On January 31st, the Lincoln Derr team attended the 8th Annual Charlotte Business Journal Corporate Counsel Awards to celebrate our in-house counsel colleagues. The event spotlights the personal accomplishments, leadership excellence, and company dedication of top in-house counsel in our region.
“The CBJ awards showcase the unsung heroes of Charlotte-area companies – the in-house lawyers working behind the scenes to keep their companies running smoothly day-to-day and out of legal trouble,” said LD attorney, Kathi Lucchesi. “We have the great fortune to work with many of the nominees and winners – the recognition by the CBJ for each of them is well-deserved!”
The theme of the night had the honorees reminiscing about their thoughts and feelings on their first day of law school. Many winners, such as Outstanding General Counsel winner Stacy Gray urged the lawyers in the audience not to forget to look up from the daily work and look back to those coming behind them. “None of us get here without help from a lot of people,” Gray said. “Please make sure you’re mentoring other attorneys, that you are doing good in our community . . . please just raise your head up and make sure that you’re helping other people. Because for all the accolades we get, when we all get to the end of our lives, it will be how are you helping other people and how good of a person are you, not just what you did at work.”

Congratulations to all of the 2019 Corporate Counsel winners and finalists!

Outstanding In-House Law Department

Winner: Passport, Inc.
Finalists: Continental Tire of the Americas

Outstanding General Counsel – Small Company

Winner: Anna Early, Britax Child Safety Inc.
Finalists: Stephanie Holland, SPX Corp.

 Outstanding General Counsel — Large Company

Winner: Salim Kafiti, Electrolux North America Inc.
Finalists: Nicole Brunson, Ingersoll Rand Inc.; Phyllis Zanghi, Brighthouse Financial Inc.

 Outstanding Corporate Counsel

Winner: Stacy Gray, Belk Inc..
Finalists: Rich Holmes, MapAnything Inc.; John Seymour, MSS Solutions Inc.

 Rising Star

Winner: Kyle Hoidal, LPL Financial

Finalists: Maggie Amos, Compass Group USA Inc.; Lindsay Goldsmith, Health Credit Services

 Outstanding Pro Bono Service

Winner: John Grupp, Husqvarna
Finalists: Patrick Barry, Curvature Inc.; Hannah Lee, Wells Fargo & Co.
Share This